At the close of the 2012 festival the list of 2012 Official Jury awards were announced, celebrating a field of 33 Official Selection Films from over fifteen countries.  The festival's big prize went to THE FANTASTIC FLYING BOOKS OF MR. MORRIS LESSMORE, the vibrant and endearing digial animation from directors William Joyce and Brandon Oldenburg.  Inspired, in equal measure, by Hurrican Katrina, Buster Keaton, and The Wizard of Oz, the critically acclaimed film was cited by the festival jury for its "beautifully rendered and emotionally powerful fusion of both old fashioned and cutting edge technology."  The film's composer, John Hunter, was also awarded the Best Original Score.

Writer, director, and actor Shawn Christensen's CURFEW was also a big festival winner.  The film was awarded the Silver Medal (2nd Place) Award, as well as the Audience Award and a Best Actor nod for Christensen's powerful work in the film.  A dramatic narrative touching on the difficult subjects of suicide, forgiveness, and familial love, the film was cited by the jury for its "emotinal honesty, beautiful design and photography, and the exceptional performance of its writer/director."

Spanish director Esteban Crespo and his stunning film AQUEL NO ERA YO (That Wasn't Me) was also a multiple award winner.  The film was awarded the Bronze Medal (3rd place) by the festival jury, as well as the Red Citation Humanitarian award for the film's exploration of global humanitarian issues.  Crespo was also awarded the fest's Best Director Award, and the lead performance by Alehandra Lorente garnered her the Best Actress Award.  Crespo's emotionally powerful film was cited by the jury for its "bravery, compassion, technical excellence, and uncompromising vision."

The Horizon Award for best student film was presented to Christoph Kuschnig's narrative film HATCH.  Christoph received his MFA from Columbia University's Graduate Film School, where HATCH was his thesis film.

The festival's Luminaria Award for Outstanding Cinematography was presented to Canada and Steve Asselin's stunning work on the film TROTTEUR,  The film was also awarded Best Sound design for the work of Olivier Calvert.

The Kurosawa Award for Creative Excelence was presented to Argentina and filmmaker Juan Pablo Zaramella for his techincally and visually brilliant LUMINARIS,

Here is a complete list of the 2012 awards: