The first eight films named Official Selections of the 2010 24fps International Short Film festival have been announced. The diverse “first wave” of selections is only a small portion of the eventual twenty-eight short films from around that world that will compete in the festivals curated exhibitions and juried competition.

In no particular order, the first eight Official Selections are:

Next Floor poster

Next Floor

Director: Denis Villeneuve
Producer: Phoebe Greenburg

Cast: Jean Marchand, Simone Chevalot, Ken Fernandez
Writers: Jacques Davidts
Cinematographer: Nicholas Bolduc
Art Direction: Jean-Marc Renaud
Film website

Logline: During an opulent banquet, guests participate in what appears to be ritualistic, gastronomic carnage.

The Butterfly Circus poster

The Butterfly Circus

Director: Joshua Weigel
Producers: Joshua Weigel, Rebekah Weigel, Angie Alvarez

Cast: Eduardo Verastegui, Nick Vujicic, Doug Jones
Writers: Joshua Weigel, Rebekah Weigel
Cinematographer: Brian Baugh
Production Design: Yeva McClosky
Art Direction: Nathan Christopher Haase
Film website

Logline: At the height of the Great Depression, the showman of a renowned circus leads his troupe through the devastated American landscape, lifting the spirits of audiences along the way.

Logorama poster


Directors: Francois Alaux, Herve de Crecy, Ludovic Houplain
Producer: Nicholas Schmerkin
Autour de Miniut Productions

Writers: H5—Francois Alaux, Herve de Crecy, Ludovic Houplain
Art Direction: Francois Alaux, Quentin Brachet, Herve de Crecy, Ludovic Houplain
Animation: Julian Aubard, Guillaume Bergere, Patrice Cailhol, Damien Climent, Nicolas Deleyris, Thomas Dufor, Renaud Megange, Michael Nauzin, Rudy Pierrat, Maximilien Royo, Alexandre Sauthier
Film website

Logline: Spectacular car chases, an intense hostage crisis, wild animals rampaging through the city, and even more in Logorama!

The Six Dollar Fifty Man poster

The Six Dollar Fifty Man

Directors: Mark Albiston, Louis Sutherland
Producer: Wendy Cuthbert
New Zealand
Narrative/Dark Comedy

Cast: Oscar Vandy-Connor, Celina Russo-Bewick, Nick Blake
Writer: Louis Sutherland
Cinematographer: Simon Baumfield
Production Design: Josh O’Neill
Film website

Logline: A gutsy 8 year-old boy is forced to break out of his make-believe superhero world to deal with playground bullies.

Family Jewels poster

Family Jewels

Director: Martin Stitt
Producer: La Monde Byrd

Cast: Josh Carmichael, Jennifer Christopher, Ethan & Wyatt Carmichael
Writer: Martin Stitt
Cinematographer: Jeff Bierman
Production Designer: Amanda Kazarian
Film website

Logline: A US soldier spends a last evening with her husband and children before being deployed to Afghanistan.

Successful Alcoholics poster

Successful Alcoholics

Director: Jordan Vogt-Roberts
Producers: Jordan Vogt-Roberts, Lizzy Caplan, TJ Miller

Cast: TJ Miller, Lizzy Caplan, Tony Hale
Writers: TJ Miller, Jordan Vogt-Roberts
Cinematographer: Ross Riege
Film website

Logline: Drake and Lindsay are successful alcoholics who may need to rethink their definition of “success.”

Echo poster


Director: Magnus von Horn
Producer: Polish National Film School

Cast: Radomir Rospondek, Marek Kossakowski, Piotr Skiba
Writer: Magnus von Horn
Cinematographer: Malgorzata Szylak
Film website

Logline: Two boys that have murdered a young girl are forced to confront the family of the victim and recreate the brutal crime they committed.

Meatwaffle poster


Director: Leah Shore
Producer: Leah Shore

Writer: Leah Shore Voices: Beth Seltzer, Michael Glicksman, Tim Beckhart, Geoff Wilson, Kathryn Konrad, Patrick Lewis, Leah Shore
Composer: Alec Hanninger
Consultants: Brian Papciak, Amy Kravitz, K. Konrad, Catlin Chan
Film website

Logline: An old man recalls his strange and bizarre memories.

The second wave of films named Official Selections (10) will be made on September 13, 2011. The final wave announcement (10 films) will be made on October 11, 2010. Public exhibitions of the entire 28 film festival program will be held November 5-6, 2010. For more information on 24fps, visit the film’s official website or become a facebook fan.

Related Links