The 2009 24fps International Short Film Festival’s public exhibitions were held November 6-7, 2009 at the landmark Paramount Theatre. At the close of the Second Night program, the fest's Official Jury Awards were announced.

Screenshot from Short Term 12

The Grand Jury Prize was awarded to director Destin Daniel Cretton’s SHORT TERM 12, the visceral, hard-hitting look at a residential facility housing kids who are all affected by child abuse and neglect. The film was cited by the jury for its “compelling, truthful, and heartbreaking look at such an important issue.” Actor Brad William Henke was also named Best Actor for his raw, emotional work in the film. Director Cretton is an American Filmmaker from Maui, Hawaii.

Screenshot from Boutonniere

The second place, Silver Medal was awarded to BOUTONNIERE, from the USA and director Coley Sohn. The darkly comic look at a teenager and her domineering mother’s prom manipulations was cited by the jury for its “subtle, dense comic timing and cringe-inducing accuracy.” Sara Swain was a surprise winner for the fest’s Best Actress for her portrayal of the teen whose free will is squashed by her mother. Director Coley Sohn lives is Los Angeles.

Screenshot from Alma

The third place, Bronze Medal went to ALMA, from American filmmaker Rodrigo Blaas. The digital animation about a young girl’s fascination with a mysterious toy shop was cited by the jury for its “incredible attention to detail, originality of vision, and technical execution.” The film was also the winner of Best Sound Design. Director Blass was born in Spain, but is now a US citizen. He lives in Emeryville, California.

The festival’s Audience Award went to Australian director Nash Edgerton and his film SPIDER. The darkly comic shocker emerged as the audience favorite in by far the closest and most debated vote since the inception of the festival in 1999. SPIDER tells the story of a prankster boyfriend who goes just a bit too far to get the attention of his irritated girlfriend. The film also received the award for Best Editing. Director Edgerton is a native of Australia.

The coveted Horizon Award for Outstanding Student Film was presented to American director Bradford Schmidt for WELGÜNZÊR, a dark, dense, comic look at the possibility or impossibility of change within a person. Schmidt’s intricate film was cited by the jury for its “complicated, layered, and intelligent direction.” Director Schmidt lives in Brooklyn, New York.

The Luminaria Award for Best Cinematography was presented to Spain and the film ASÄMARA. The documentary about the difficult lives of young children in Africa was photographed by Javi Agirre, and directed by Jon Garaño and Raul López. The jury cited the film for “stunning visual imagery capturing not only the dynamic landscape of Africa but the soul of its children.” The film was also awarded Best Original Score.

The Kurosawa Award for Creative Excellence was presented to Slovenian director Dusan Kastelic for his animated film CHICORY ‘N’ COFFEE. The digital animation from the Bugbrain Institute in Slovenia is a touching look at how so often we’re unable to tell people we’re close to how much we love them until it’s too late. The just cited the film for its “truly original visual style, design, and emotional impact.” Director Kastelic is from Zagorje ob Savi, Slovenia.

The Festival’s Red Citation Humanitarian Award was given to director Lauren Wolkstein and her dramatic film CIGRARETTE CANDY. The film, an explosive look at the effects of war and combat on a traumatized teenage marine, was the fest’s most debated entry. Screened two days after the violent rampage at Ft. Hood in Texas, it was a powerful reminder of the emotional and psychological impact of that tragedy. The film was also awarded Best Screenplay for Jeff Sousa’s work. Lauren is an American filmmaker from Brooklyn, New York.

Follow this link to view the complete list of the 2009 Award Winners.